Book Review: The Ghosts of 1894 by Oduor Jagero

 

I believe it’s tricky when choosing to write about topics that are very sensitive. Whether the content of the book is based on a true story or it’s fiction, you can never really tell where or when to draw the line.

Oduor does an excellent job of gripping our hearts and taking us on a journey into the hearts and minds of his characters. The way he wrote this book… It felt like I was walking through Nyungwe with Akamanzi and Juliet.

The character development was something that my mind kept running back to, after I started reading – Oduor introduces and builds up several characters that are integral to the plot of the story. With a back story on each leading to the point where we meet them. Each story very well thought out, there is a point where even though he is giving you their past, there is a certain mystery that still remains with the character. I felt this way about one of the lead female characters. Actually, throughout the entire book, I kept expecting the ball to drop in some drastic way.

Another interesting thing about this book, is the way it cuts across timelines and countries. Weaving a tale of the unresolved differences of the masters that bled into the hearts of the unsuspecting colonies. This gripping thriller will hook it’s unrelenting claws into you and keep you turning her pages.

There are some tiny details that did often wake me from my reverie, like the notion that Kabale is infinitely more rural than Busia *major side-eye*; or the fact that locals kept referring to Mille Collines in it’s full form (Hôtel des Mille Collines or shortening it as des Mille); or Matoke instead of Matooke; the American recognising ‘groundnuts‘… Again, these are just teensy-wincy details that often pulled me out of the I-can’t-get-enough-of-this-book.

The topic of creative licence came to mind as I noted above. In all circumstances, an author who is writing fiction should be able to create and redefine places as they see fit. But what happens when you are writing fiction surrounding events that have happened or even writing about places that currently exist.

Must we stay in line with the nuances of the locals or do we have the licence to integrate the physical reality with a hint of fiction.

Side Note: This is the sixth book I am completing off the 2016 Africa Reading Challenge. My reading list is here in case you are looking for books to add to yours OR if you have book I simply must read feel free to share.

My next book is Taiye Selasi’s Ghana Must Go


**The Ghosts of 1894 photo source: AfricaReview.com

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Ghosts of 1894 by Oduor Jagero”

  1. Madam, after certain literary ladies walked out of an event coz their names were not spelled right, oba check the tittle of this one? 🙂

    That issue of staying in line with local nuances also troubles me. Most recently in Nansubuga Makumbi’s ‘Kintu’. On the one hand, I guess if we keep in mind that the audience is wider than ourselves we can make room.

    But on the other hand I just find some instances of this clash to be plain lazy. So what if the world doesn’t know you’re skewing local truth? YOU will know! Your indigenous readers will know! And it will vex them. How hard can it be to do both? i.e Stay true to local flavour but still use creative license. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Tehehe… Thanks for noticing that glaring spelling mishap! As I wrote this I was terrified of pointing out a spelling error in the book and then have one in my post… ALAS!!! It happened anyway… hides face in shame

      I think your comment is spot on: let us stay true to the local flavour!

      Like

Tell me what you think...

