#UgBlogWeek (Day 4): Music Snobs…

**Stands up** Hey everyone, my name is Kirabo. I am a snob of the music. (Giggles) whatever that means.

I absolutely love music. I love the notes that lift themselves up and dissolve into the atmosphere around you. I love singing (but if you ever in this lifetime hear me sing – keep your comment to yourself, tehehe). Ah! You don’t get it – to love something so much but physically fail to actually doing it.

You see, I grew up on Mary Poppins, Sound of Music, Smokie, Ken & Dolly, New Kids on the Block, Crystal Gaye… Urgghh – this post is quickly spiralling into another down memory lane post. I realised that I had a knack for quickly picking out the words, so off I would go – wishing everyone would leave so that I can belt out lyrics to an invisible audience.

Then came rap. Talking in rhyme. My mind was officially blown. I was a closet G-Unit fan… They used to start their songs with “G UUUNIT!” Tehehe, it works better when I say it. I rock the party that rocks the party, you rock the party that rocks the party; Or When G-dog, the hog, come up in the place; Or So I can get to stomping in my air force ones. I’d get the words in my head or close versions of them and be dying to test it out. Of course in my head, my own voice is totally shrouded by the memory of the song, all I have to do is lip-sync… However to those around me… Not so much. One wise young fellow gave me the idea to record myself. I did. *insert jaw drop emoticon*…

So I resolved to listening and moving whatever part of my body is free at the time. This is normally my feet. I went all out – buying both Sennheiser and Beats, because you never know when you might be in the mood for one or the other. And so for months, I have been able to keep the belting gene under wraps.

Until DJ Twonjex felt that he should aide the world with a #Tweetamix every Thursday afternoon – downloadable from his soundcloud . Imagine my dilemma… It’s like the devil is a hardworking liar, meh! I am like moving my feet under the table, bobbing my head, swaying my shoulders, anything to keep my mouth from opening.

Then came #Tweetamix #EDMvsNaija.

There I was. Quiet shared workspace.

You can imagine…

11 thoughts on “#UgBlogWeek (Day 4): Music Snobs…”

Tell me what you think...

