What I Meant To Say

Yesterday, I went off on some what if a tangent… Lol! But I find that these things almost always happen when I write – I start out meaning to say one thing but end up pouring out myself on something completely different! Almost as if, my brain sends out a signal saying, “Just get her to the compose page, we’ll do the rest!”

I am still in the Psalms, but what I meant to say was that I marvel at David’s vivid imagination. Today, I think that because of all the sci-fi, I have watched – some things I read and I can totally see… But what cinematic background did David have? Teheheh.

“Then the earth quaked and trembled. The foundations of the mountains shook; they quaked because of his anger. Smoke poured from his nostrils; fierce flames leaped from his mouth. Glowing coals blazed forth from him. He opened the heavens and came down; dark storm clouds were beneath his feet. Mounted on a mighty angelic being, he flew, soaring on the wings of the wind. He shrouded himself in darkness, veiling his approach with dark rain clouds. Thick clouds shielded the brightness around him and rained down hail and burning coals. The LORD thundered from heaven; the voice of the Most High resounded amid the hail and burning coals.”

‭‭Psalms‬ ‭18:7-13‬ ‭NLT‬‬

http://bible.com/116/psa.18.7-13.nlt

Context: God is leaving heaven to rescue him…

*Wait* What?

God, this Old Testament God, the one people say is famous for annihilation – and now he is on his way to help David. With smoke pouring out of his nose, and fierce flames from his mouth!

*rewinding halting tape sound*

When God was editing the Bible how did all this pass him by? I mean, does he like this description? Is this an accurate description of who he is? Or maybe this is just David’s interpretation of what this God, whom he believed loved him so much, that he would leave his throne – in heaven – like those ends, past the milky way – beyond the galaxies that are light years away, and show up just to save him. And like who is he? In later chapters, David calls himself a worm – not a man.

So have you pictured it? God is on his way to save the worm. Oh man! This is amazing stuff!!

Meanwhile, “He shrouds himself in darkness to veil his approach…” *insert wide-eyed, shocked emoticon here*. My highly religious self would go – “What, God no come in darkness, what is wrong wid dis writer?”

But I see his point, as clear as I do daylight, it would be of tactical advantage to hide his approach to surprise his enemy! Right? That is what I would do. That is what David would have done.

*smiles* Get it?

But he doesn’t need to do what we would have done… Tehehe, He is God. Like G.O.D.

“He can burst forth, descending with sun under his feet and the moon in his right hand. Surrounded by billowing clouds that are magnifying the brightness that surrounds him!”

OR

“He can skate in on a rainbow doing an amazing flip just as he comes to a halt in front of my enemy. Lightening bolts in his left hand and roars of thunder coming forth from his mouth”

OR

“He can from the heavenly war room, pull up the interface, connecting to the database, with a list of all earthly beings, right click on the table labeled, ‘her_enemies’ – and type: DROP TABLE her_enemies;”

OR

“He can gently nudge, every day – whispering ever so slightly – that only those who are looking and listening can hear.”

Hahaha! I am so off the tangent, but who cares – we all know, that the last one is more likely to happen. But He is GOD – anything is possible.

Never forget that…

3 thoughts on “What I Meant To Say”

  1. I kept thinking as you wrote, the part where it says “He comes like a thief in the night”. I also thought about how terrible the Lord’s appearing can be to the soul. How while we are so taken up in ourselves, He shows up with His altogether different-ness from us and shakes things up.

    The line I really liked though was

    “God is on his way to save the worm”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Let me tell you, I think he delights in the shock factor sometime, like “Child, get over yourself – I am GOD, allow me to act like it!”

      PS: Tehehe, I felt I was pushing the envelop with that line, but the tangent had taken hold!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree. Get over yourself Nev. That thing needs a cross most times. Death. Crucified with Christ hehe.

        No pushing the envelope. That line was it!

        Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think...

