Bible Study: to do greater.

So I am doing this Bible study and it is surrounding Prophets and God speaking, right? Actually, that should be another post all together. For this post however, I would like to relieve my brain, because I seem to be overloading on a small tiny little fact:

“You will be greater”

Bare with me as I attempt to organize my thoughts here. Let me start at the beginning – a very good place to start 😀

God showed up at Sinai, but the people were too terrified. His presence was not something they wanted to comprehend out of fear that they would die. So they did what any good human being would do, they asked for a mediator – Don’t let us deal directly with him. You, Moses, go speak for us and tell us what he says. (I wrote about that here).

15 Moses continued, “The lord your God will raise up for you a prophet like me from among your fellow Israelites. You must listen to him. 16 For this is what you yourselves requested of the lord your God when you were assembled at Mount Sinai. You said, ‘Don’t let us hear the voice of the lord our God anymore or see this blazing fire, for we will die.’ (Deut 18)

We start with Moses:

10 There has never been another prophet in Israel like Moses, whom the lord knew face to face. (Deut 34)

As in he was so great, they couldn’t possible compare anyone else to him. I can imagine that. I can think of people who are so unique that, honestly to compare others to them would be an insult. So we have the great prophet Moses, on chair 1.

Now, chair 2, we have Jesus.

17 “Then the lord said to me, ‘What they have said is right. 18 I will raise up a prophet like you from among their fellow Israelites. I will put my words in his mouth, and he will tell the people everything I command him. (Deut 18)

From the above scripture, Jesus, is the one being referred to, right? A prophet like Moses (i.e. A mediator, a prophet, perform miraculous signs and wonders – He raised the dead on a number of occasions).

Now, chair 3, You/Me/Us!

12 “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. 13 You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. 14 Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it! (John 14)

We have the ability to do greater? Can i call it an ability? Choice? Blessing? Birth right? “Just”. As in should you believe in Jesus, you can do greater than what he did.

What? Let me say that again: WHAT?!!!

Jesus, succeeded Moses (can I say that? I am not sure if that is a theologically correct statement, but you know what I mean). Moses, the one no one could compare to. Then the Messiah came, he did even greater more miraculous works. Then those who believe in the Messiah will do greater?

What is greater than what Jesus did?

No seriously, I am having a difficult time figuring this out? Partly because to me it seems even blasphemous to comprehend.

Tell me what you think...

